Awoken Love

above-adventure-aerial-air

You’ve awoken something in me that has been dead a very long time. It’s a bit overwhelming, I admit. It makes me afraid to be so vulnerable and trusting. But, you somehow make me abandon my senses and just simply love. I can’t explain this power you have over me, I don’t know if I want an explanation. I just know that I love you.

It’s been a very long time since I’ve allowed myself to use words like “hope”, “love”, and “trust”. Yet with you, they flow freely from my lips; just as the tears flow freely from my eyes, down my cheeks, and soften my hardened heart. And then I close my eyes and imagine the feel of your hands against my exposed skin and I tremble with longing and deep desire that I fear will never be fulfilled. You alone are my love, hold my heart. Please keep it safe. Im trusting you my beloved King.

The world around me is cruel and selfish; cold and heartless… and yet I find you in the center. Warm and welcoming offering hope of a beautiful love… it seems impossible and surreal. I’m sure I’ll awaken soon, finding myself on the cold hard concrete foundation of devastation yet again. Cursing my weakness for allowing myself to feel anything resembling love. Surely, this is not real! A love like this is only in the movies, in fairy tales…, right? Something so perfect cannot exist in such an imperfect world.

2 thoughts on “Awoken Love

Leave a Reply

